ISTA present...

From Page to Stage: How to Teach Directing and Devising Skills through the Lens of a Production with Samantha Pierce

October 30, 2021

Multi Region Event: Asia & Europe / Americas & Europe

Please note that this event is available to book in two regions. For more detailed time zone information, please see the ‘Important information’ section below and select your chosen region when you ‘Book now’.

About the workshop


Title
From Page to Stage: How to Teach Directing and Devising Skills through the Lens of a Production

Workshop description
We all know how to direct a show. But do you know how to create a unit of work where the end result is the show, but the focus is on teaching your students how to be directors, designers and collaborative creators using their own vision? How do you fragment the directing of a class production so the below the iceberg work of exploration is more important than the end performance, so that the end performance is a punctuation mark in a whole story of explorations?

Learning outcomes

  • Building skills needed as both a director as a collaborative creator
  • Finding ways to put the students at the heart of the directing process
  • Rethinking why we direct plays. A shift towards skill building over product
  • To arm yourself with a toolkit to help students understand what a vision means, and how this is expressed across performance and production elements

Target audience
All theatre teachers

About your workshop leader


Samantha Pierce
I am a theatre educator, a teacher workshop leader, curriculum consultant and seasoned examiner. I am also a trained counselor with a focus on anxiety and trauma based approaches to education. More importantly, I am a student of all of these roles; constantly looking to grow and stretch with new approaches and knowledge. I believe that it doesn’t matter if you have two years or twenty-two – great educators are the ones who are reflective enough to examine their own practice and always strive to respond to the world that we live in.

I’ve worked in London, Spain, Hong Kong and now reside in the US where I teach theatre and dance at a private all girls school. When I’m not teaching or geeking out with the wonderful theatre community I can be found killing 50% of the plants in my garden or exploring the beautiful forests of Ohio.

Important information


Event Coordinator
Keriann O’Rourke

Workshop timings
Region 1 – Asia & Europe
11:00 am – 12:30 pm BST (British Summer Time)
12:00 pm – 1:30 pm CEST (Central Europe Summer Time)
6:00 pm – 7:30 pm SGT (Singapore General Time)

Region 2 – Americas & Europe
10:00 am – 11:30 am PDT (Pacific Daylight Time)
1:00 pm – 2:30 pm EDT (Eastern Daylight Time)
6:00 pm – 7:30 pm BST (British Standard Time)
7:00 pm – 8:30 pm CEST (Central Europe Summer Time)

Please note
You will be emailed joining instructions 24 hours ahead of the session.

Finances


The cost of this session is GBP £35 per person for ISTA members and GBP £40 per person for non members.

What to bring


Any materials shared with you prior to the workshop, such as the workbook. A notebook and pencil are always useful.

Space requirements
If possible, please try to have a small amount of space near to you for any practical work.

Download & Forms

Please find below the relevant documentation for you to download:

Dates

Asia & Europe

Starts on Saturday 30 October at 18:00
Finishes on Saturday 30 October at 19:30
(SST - Singapore Standard Time)

Americas & Europe

Starts on Saturday 30 October at 19:00
Finishes on Saturday 30 October at 20:30
(CEST - Central European Summer Time)

Participants

• Juliette O’Brien
• Renee van Beek
• Yuliya Stelmashonok