ISTA present...

Katie Mitchell in Practice with Simon Bell

October 16, 2021

Multi Region Event: Asia & Europe / Americas & Europe

Please note that this event is available to book in two regions. For more detailed time zone information, please see the ‘Important information’ section below and select your chosen region when you ‘Book now’.

About the workshop


Title
Katie Mitchell in Practice

Workshop description
In this workshop we will explore Katie Mitchell’s creative aims, her repurposed version of Stanislavski’s system for naturalistic character development and ways of practically developing her staging practice of live cinema (both in person and online).

Learning outcomes

  • Understand Mitchell’s approach to directing
  • Experience her rehearsal methods
  • Develop the practical and theoretical understanding to lead a theatre theorist workshop with their students
  • Understand how they can integrate technology into theatre practice
  • Feel confident to introduce Mitchell as a possible theorist for the Solo Theatre Piece
  • Feel confident to use Mitchell’s approach when exploring a text in practice

Target audience
All theatre teachers

About your workshop leader


Simon Bell
I was born in the United Kingdom, trained as an actor at Bristol and worked professionally as an actor/director before becoming a theatre teacher in the UK and US. I am now a freelance theatre artist who travels the world looking for exciting creative opportunities and the best beaches.

My main interests as a theatre artist are in devised collaborative theatre and physical acting. My training is focussed in Lecoq’s pedagogy and in my own devised work, and I am passionate about exploring social and political ideas through physicality. I have experience working with Complicité, Frantic Assembly and Gecko, and these companies inform much of my practice.

I have extensive experience with the IB DP Theatre and MYP courses and have led Category 1, 2 and 3 teacher training workshops for ISTA. I also work as a creative director, SEL at TaPS/festivals and master class leader, and am thrilled to be part of such an incredible community of theatre artists.

Important information


Event Coordinator
Sophie Galton

Workshop timings
Region 1 – Asia & Europe
11:00 am – 12:30 pm BST (British Summer Time)
12:00 pm – 1:30 pm CEST (Central Europe Summer Time)
6:00 pm – 7:30 pm SGT (Singapore General Time)

Region 2 – Americas & Europe
8:00 am – 9:30 am PDT (Pacific Daylight Time)
11:00 am – 12:30 pm EDT (Eastern Daylight Time)
4:00 pm – 5:30 pm BST (British Summer Time)
5:00 pm – 6:30 pm CEST (Central Europe Summer Time)

Please note
You will be emailed joining instructions 24 hours ahead of the session.

Finances


The cost of this session is GBP £35 per person for ISTA members and GBP £40 per person for non members.

What to bring


Any materials shared with you prior to the workshop, such as the workbook. A notebook and pencil are always useful.

Space requirements
If possible, please try to have a small amount of space near to you for any practical work.

Download & Forms

Please find below the relevant documentation for you to download:

Dates

Asia & Europe

Starts on Saturday 16 October at 18:00
Finishes on Saturday 16 October at 19:30
(SST - Singapore Standard Time)

Americas & Europe

Starts on Saturday 16 October at 17:00
Finishes on Saturday 16 October at 18:30
(CEST - Central European Summer Time)

Participants

• Csilla Szabo
• Edie Moon
• Helen Bamford
• JL Murdoch
• Jo Cassidy
• Laura Leat
• Sally Carter
• Sally Carter
• Sophie Hermosa
• Stacy Ohrt-Billingslea
• Tracey Grey