ISTA present...

Ko-uta: discover kyogen’s ‘small chants’ with Jubilith Moore

February 17, 2022

Multi Region Event: Asia & Europe / Americas & Europe

Booking Closed

Please note that this event is available to book in two regions. For more detailed time zone information, please see the ‘Important information’ section below and select your chosen region when you ‘Book now’.

About the workshop

Title
Ko-uta: discover kyogen’s vocal conventions through ‘small chants’

Workshop description
This workshop will introduce participants to kyogen’s vocal conventions. Participants will somatically explore and discover these vocal techniques as well as kyogen’s inherent vitality and relevance for today’s performer.

Learning outcomes

Participants will:

  • experience kyogen’s traditional training conventions
  • explore kyogen’s utai-bon (chant book, also known as script or score) and be able to hear and identify the defining attributes (i.e. haru, osaeru and nori) of
  • kyogen’s kotoba (stylized speech), two styles (yowagin and tsuyogin) of uta (chant) and nori (rhythm)
  • appreciate the role of language, oral tradition and character in understanding kyogen as well as the challenges of translation
  • appreciate the direct intimate relationship between kyogen’s extreme stylization and their individual and personal reality

Target audience
All teachers of theatre and drama

Level: Introductory

https://youtu.be/03MFrUD1MK0

About your workshop leader

Jubilith Moore

I’m a theatre performer, director, teacher and producer. Since 1993 I’ve devoted myself to the study of nōhgaku as well as to its infusion into contemporary American theatre. I’m a Japan Foundation Fellow and have been recognized by TCG, TBA and CCI. I’m a founding member of Theatre Nohgaku (theatrenohgaku.org) and was with San Francisco’s Theatre of Yugen for 21 years.

A bridge-builder I believe the act of knowing another alters the self, opens doors and cultivates empathy. My goal is for nōhgaku to cease to be esoteric and exotic and be seen as the remarkable art form it is.

I am one of a handful of English speaking nōhgaku practitioners trained in Japanese by Japanese nōh and kyōgen masters who in addition to performing works from the traditional repertoire in Japanese, also has created new works in English and performed classics from the repertoires in English.

Important information

Event coordinator
Helen Abbott: helen@ista.co.uk


Workshop timings

Region 1: Asia & Europe
Thursday 17th February 2022
6:00 am – 7:30 am Eastern Standard Time (EST)
11:00 am – 12:30 pm Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)
12:00pm – 1:30 pm Central European Time (CET)
6:00 pm -8:30 pm Singapore Standard Time (SST)

Region 2: Americas & Europe
Thursday 17th February 2022
8:00 am – 9:30 am Pacific Standard Time (PST)
11:00 am – 12:30pm Eastern Standard Time (EST)
4:00 pm – 5:30 pm Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)
5:00 pm – 6:30 pm Central EuropeanTime (CET)


The workshop will take place on Zoom.
Joining instructions will be emailed to participants 24 hours before the event.
Some familiarity with Google Drive, Google Docs etc. would be helpful, but is not a requirement.

Places are limited to 25 participants

Finances

The cost of this/these sessions is GBP £35 per person for ISTA members and GBP £40 per person for non members

Please note that once booked and invoiced the registration fees are non-refundable and non-transferable as per our event terms and conditions.

What to bring

Any materials shared with you prior to the workshop, such as the workbook. A notebook and pencil are always useful.

Space requirements
If possible, please try to have a small amount of space near to you for any practical work.

Download & Forms

Please find below the relevant documentation for you to download:

Dates

Asia & Europe

Starts on Thursday 17 February at 19:00
Finishes on Thursday 17 February at 20:30
(SST - Singapore Standard Time)

Americas & Europe

Starts on Thursday 17 February at 17:00
Finishes on Thursday 17 February at 18:30
(CET - Central European Time)

Participants

• Amy Percival
• Giuliana Colarossi
• Julia Watson
• Nate Regan
• Peace Eshun
• Tiffany Greer
• Tiziano Kirchner