ISTA presents...

New York IB workshop - Combined Cat 1 and 2 DP Theatre

October 10 - October 12, 2019


Diploma Programme Theatre
Category 1
Category 2

Master class

All participants will take part in one 90 minute master class.
Either Moment Work with Tectonic Theater Project or Beijing Opera with Chinese Theatre Works.


All participants will attend two professional theatre performances.

Firstly and in a change to that previously advertised.

Beetlejuice at The Winter Garden Theatre.

The ghost-with-the-most comes to the stage in this edgy and irreverent musical comedy based on Tim Burton’s dearly beloved film. BEETLEJUICE tells the story of Lydia Deetz, a strange and unusual teenager obsessed with the whole “being dead thing.” Lucky for Lydia, her new house is haunted by a recently deceased couple and Beetlejuice, a delightful demon with a real zest for life. When Lydia calls on Beetlejuice to scare away anyone with a pulse, this double-crossing specter shows his true stripes, unleashing a (Nether)world of pandemonium, and the biggest sandworm Broadway has ever seen.


And To Kill a Mockingbird at the Shubert Theatre.

The world premiere of Academy Award winner Aaron Sorkin’s new play, Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird, directed by Tony Award winner Bartlett Sher (Oslo, The King and I), comes to Broadway in a production starring Jeff Daniels, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Will Pullen, and Gbenga Akinnagbe. Published in 1960, Harper Lee’s debut novel To Kill a Mockingbird was an immediate and astonishing success. Now, for the first time ever, Harper Lee’s open-hearted dissection of justice and tolerance in the American South will be brought vividly to life on the Broadway stage.

To Kill a Mockingbird

Please note – theatre productions may be subject to change according to numbers and factors outside our control.


The workshop starts at at 9:00am on Thursday 10th October 2019.
The workshop finishes at 3:00pm on Saturday 12th October 2019.


Ripley Grier Studios
520 Eighth Avenue (Bet. 36th & 37th Streets)
16th Floor
New York NY 10018
United States of America

Venue website

ISTA event coordinator

Sophie Galton



Important dates

Registration is now open.
Registration closes on Thursday 12th September 2019.

Artist travel forms are due Thursday 12th September 2019.


Participants are advised to arrive into New York, by evening on 9th October 2019 and should not plan to leave the venue until after the last session finishes at 3:00pm. Early departures should be avoided, but if incurred will mean ISTA can only issue a certificate of partial attendance.

All artists should plan to fly into New York.


All participants will be asked to book their own hotel accommodation.



Registration fees
Teachers from member schools – GBP £757.
Teachers from non-member schools – GBP £815.
Fees include lunches and tea/coffee breaks daily; master class and two theatre tickets.

ISTA t-shirt – GBP £12.

Teachers from member schools – GBP £769.
Teachers from non member schools – GBP £827.

Any bookings or amendments taken in the six weeks prior to the workshop will incur an additional GBP £50 late booking/amendments surcharge, subject to availability.


Lunches are provided daily along with tea/coffee breaks; breakfast and evening meals are not included.

Please find below the relevant documentation for you to download:


Starts on Thursday 10 October at 09:00
Finishes on Saturday 12 October at 15:00 .


Ripley Grier Studios
520 Eighth Avenue (Bet. 36th & 37th Streets)
16th Floor
New York, NY 10018


• Anahita Sarabhai
• Ashley Kirk
• Austin Farwell
• Ben Tait
• Benjamin Hunton
• Catherine Clarke
• Elizabeth DeBell
• Hanan Al-Naqeeb
• James Payne
• James Young
• John Zirkle
• Julie Kate Hazelrigg
• Laurie Riffe
• Lisa Lincoln
• Luke Bridges
• Mark Wright
• Melissa Howe
• Morgan Evraire
• Tara Taylor
• Tara Taylor
• Terry McGonigle