ISTA present...

Teaching Clown as a Tool for Acting with Matt Godfrey

December 9, 2021

Multi Region Event: Asia & Europe / Keriann O'Rourke

Please note that this event is available to book in two regions. For more detailed time zone information, please see the ‘Important information’ section below and select your chosen region when you ‘Book now’.

About the workshop


Title
Teaching Clown as a Tool for Acting

Workshop description
Clowns make us laugh, cry and be very afraid. This session has nothing to do with the traditional big-haired, big-shoes, squirting flower circus clown. The study of clown is an extension of mask, where the students create characters that react to any stimulus, experiencing moments of truth, vulnerability and comedy that become the student’s inner clown.

Teaching clown effectively relies on the teacher’s ability to react and improvise using their knowledge of games and exercises while applying them to the world of mask and clown.

Learning outcomes
Participants will learn how to:

  • Structure clown material into their curriculum
  • Apply and link multiple acting theories to a tangible and accessible practice resulting in: entertaining and impactful rehearsals, character development, personal performance growth, and performances
  • Sequence exercises and tools to yield maximum effect
  • Use Drone Noting, including inception of practice and theory

Target audience
All theatre teachers

About your workshop leader


Matt Godfrey
At the age of ten I started my career on stage in a production of Brecht’s Galileo and followed it up by making my international debut on the Canadian TV cult classic You Can’t Do That On Television. While studying at the National Theatre School of Canada and the Moscow Art Theatre, my focus expanded into dance, improvisation, clown, busking, television and film.

I discovered Red Nose Clown as a performer playing Romeo in a clown version of Romeo and Juliet and Marianna / Mistress Overdone in a Bouffon version of Measure for Measure. Most recently as the quantum clown, Norbut Yetso with Was Ist Das?, a monthly Cabaret set in 1924 Berlin, and in my award winning show The Universe 101. Since 1997 I have traveled the world with the ISTA teaching clown, ensemble devising, Boleslavsky, improv and Shakespeare.

Theatre is a time machine allowing its participants to visit past, future and parallel stories – connecting them to that great lineage that has passed before and will continue long after they are gone. As a performer, director, producer, editor and teacher, one of my greatest joys is this opportunity to live, if only briefly, beyond the scope and bounds of a single lifetime.

Important information


Event Coordinator
Keriann O’Rourke

Workshop timings
Region 1 – Asia & Europe
4:00 am – 5:30 am GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
5:00 am – 6:30 am CET (Central European Time)
12:00 pm – 1:30 pm SGT (Singapore General Time )

Region 2 – Americas & Europe
7:00 am – 8:30 am PST (Pacific Standard Time)
10:00 am – 11:30 am EST (Eastern Standard Time)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm GMT(Greenwich Mean Time)
4:00 pm – 5:30 pm CET (Central European Time)

Please note
You will be emailed joining instructions 24 hours ahead of the session.

Finances


The cost of this session is GBP £35 per person for ISTA members and GBP £40 per person for non members.

What to bring


Any materials shared with you prior to the workshop, such as the workbook. A notebook and pencil are always useful.

Space requirements
If possible, please try to have a small amount of space near to you for any practical work.

Download & Forms

Please find below the relevant documentation for you to download:

Dates

Asia & Europe

Starts on Thursday 09 December at 12:00
Finishes on Thursday 09 December at 13:30
(SST - Singapore Standard Time)

Keriann O'Rourke

Starts on Thursday 09 December at 16:00
Finishes on Thursday 09 December at 17:30
(CET - Central European Time)

Participants

• Daniel Dugard
• Jo Cassidy
• Juliette O’Brien
• Sally Carter