ISTA present...

Teaching Unfamiliar World Theatre Traditions with Fenella Kelly

November 11, 2021

Multi Region Event: Asia & Europe / Americas & Europe

Please note that this event is available to book in two regions. For more detailed time zone information, please see the ‘Important information’ section below and select your chosen region when you ‘Book now’.

About the workshop


Title
Teaching unfamiliar world theatre traditions

Workshop description
In this PD & L session we will explore how to approach researching and introducing world theatre traditions to students. We will also look at ways into practically exploring the tradition. During the session we will touch on how students can work on performing the tradition authentically, individually or as a group.

Learning outcomes

  • Understanding the range or different sources that can be used in research
  • How to document research and sources effectively
  • Many ways into somatic learning of different conventions
  • Many ways to document a process of learning through the body
  • How to select appropriate performance material
  • How to apply practical learning to performance material
  • Explore the range conventions that can be explored in world theatre traditions
  • Make connections between, and comparisons with, aspects of one world theatre tradition and other traditions/practices

Target audience
All theatre teachers

About your workshop leader


Fenella Kelly
I am an international drama specialist, teacher, teacher trainer and dancer. I co-founded the International Theatre company in Istanbul, was a member of the Physical Theatre company in Brazil and in contemporary dance companies in the United Kingdom, India, Brazil and Egypt. Now I am a freelance artist based in the UK.

I love all the performing arts and play the flute and saxophone in bands, learn drumming and sing in choirs. I also teach and perform Latin American dances including salsa and tango. Since 2008 I have been learning Kathakali and now teach and perform this dance-theatre tradition.

Important information


Event Coordinator
Helen Abbott

Workshop timings
Region 1 – Asia & Europe
9:00 am – 10:30 am GMT (Greenwich Mean Time )
10:00 am – 11:30 am CET (Central European Time)
4:00 pm – 5:30 pm SGT (Singapore General Time )

Region 2 – Americas & Europe
7:00 am – 8:30 am PST (Pacific Standard Time)
10:00 am – 11:30 am EST (Eastern Standard Time)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
4:00 pm – 5:30 pm CET (Central European Time)

Please note
You will be emailed joining instructions 24 hours ahead of the session.

Finances


The cost of this/these sessions is GBP £35 per person for ISTA members and GBP £40 per person for non members.

What to bring


Any materials shared with you prior to the workshop, such as the workbook. A notebook and pencil are always useful.

Space requirements
If possible, please try to have a small amount of space near to you for any practical work.

Download & Forms

Please find below the relevant documentation for you to download:

Dates

Asia & Europe

Starts on Thursday 11 November at 16:00
Finishes on Thursday 11 November at 17:30
(SST - Singapore Standard Time)

Americas & Europe

Starts on Thursday 11 November at 16:00
Finishes on Thursday 11 November at 17:30
(CET - Central European Time)

Participants

• Christy Klump
• Csilla Szabo
• Holly Barradell
• Renee van Beek
• Sally Carter
• Sara Clark-Ignash
• Yuliya Stelmashonok