ISTA present...

The Lie that Brings Us Closer to the Truth! With Nita Dewse

December 2, 2021

Multi Region Event: Asia & Europe / Americas & Europe

Please note that this event is available to book in two regions. For more detailed time zone information, please see the ‘Important information’ section below and select your chosen region when you ‘Book now’.

About the workshop


Title
The Lie that Brings Us Closer to the Truth!

Workshop description
The title of this workshop comes from Pablo Picasso’s famous quote which helps us to glean the purpose of the Arts. This workshop will help you engage philosophically with knowledge in the Arts and theatre specifically. It will help you to make connections between your teaching, the methodology of other subject areas and the big questions of life related to how we know anything! All in an hour and a half! Can you spot the lie yet?

Learning outcomes

  • Engage with big questions using personal knowledge to support your ideas, and analyse where this knowledge comes from (experience, culture, community) and how this might affect our perspectives, ethics and bias
  • Understand the different interpretations of the word ‘truth’ from objective truths to personal faith and the role that evidence plays in this
  • Better understand the methodology and purpose of theatre and its role in discovering ‘the truth’ and how this in turn influences how your students know things about themselves and the world around them

Target audience
All theatre teachers

About your workshop leader


Nita Dewse
I’ve been teaching TOK for the last 4 years and really love how it has added depth to my regular teaching. Despite the fact that this sort of thinking regularly makes my brain hurt, it has also helped to confirm why the Arts are so important in a student’s life; how grappling with emotion, intuition and faith provide balance to an education system that mostly assesses language, memory and reason.

However, it has also helped me see the connections between other subject areas as well – the beauty of mathematics or the imagination of a scientist for example. The main unifying thing, however, is humankind’s constant quest for finding ‘the truth’. Despite the different approaches taken across subject areas, mankind’s desire to understand ‘how we fit into the world/universe’ is a great unifier and Theatre plays a great role in this across all cultures and ages.

Important information


Event Coordinator
Helen Abbott

Workshop timings
Region 1 – Asia & Europe
8:00 am – 9:30 am GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
9:00 am – 10:30 am CET (Central European Time)
4:00 pm – 5:30 pm SGT (Singapore Time)

Region 2 – Americas & Europe
6:00 am – 7:30 am PST (Pacific Standard Time)
9:00 am – 10:30 am EST (Eastern Standard Time)
2:00 pm – 3:30 pm GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm CET (Central European Time)

Please note
You will be emailed joining instructions 24 hours ahead of the session.

Finances


The cost of this session is GBP £35 per person for ISTA members and GBP £40 per person for non members.

What to bring


Any materials shared with you prior to the workshop, such as the workbook. A notebook and pencil are always useful.

Space requirements
If possible, please try to have a small amount of space near to you for any practical work.

Download & Forms

Please find below the relevant documentation for you to download:

Dates

Asia & Europe

Starts on Thursday 02 December at 16:00
Finishes on Thursday 02 December at 17:30
(SST - Singapore Standard Time)

Americas & Europe

Starts on Thursday 02 December at 15:00
Finishes on Thursday 02 December at 16:30
(CET - Central European Time)

Participants

• Juliette O’Brien
• Stacy Ohrt-Billingslea