ISTA present...

Viewpoints in Rehearsal with Shane Jones

November 25, 2021

Multi Region Event: Asia & Europe / Americas & Europe

Please note that this event is available to book in two regions. For more detailed time zone information, please see the ‘Important information’ section below and select your chosen region when you ‘Book now’.

About the workshop


Title
Viewpoints in Rehearsal

Workshop description
In this workshop we will explore how to apply the vocabulary of the Viewpoints in the classroom. This session is Ideal for teachers looking to deepen their practice with ensemble building and devised work. A technique that grew out of the post-modern dance world, Viewpoints can be used to build a strong ensemble and quickly create dynamic stage moments.

Learning outcomes
Participants will:

  • Develop a strong understanding and richer awareness of their physical language and performance space
  • Discover how meaning can be interpreted through movement and the placement of the actor’s body in space
  • Investigate and unpack the elements of time and space
  • Make more dynamic and considered theatrical choices

Target audience
All theatre teachers

About your workshop leader


Shane Jones
I work as a freelance director, choreographer and producer of theatre. Born in New Zealand, I now live in Australia working freelance for a variety of theatre companies across text-based theatre to musicals to physical theatre. Initially trained in dance, acting and physical theatre, it did not take long before I discovered a love for directing.

I have completed post-graduate studies in Directing at the National Institute of Dramatic Art in Sydney, travelled to New York City to study physical actor training with the SITI Company and I was awarded a Mike Walsh Fellowship to study Film Directing at New York Film Academy in NYC. As a director working across diverse mediums I am committed to creating and retelling engaging contemporary stories of social relevance and importance.

Before embarking on a career as a director I worked as an actor for many years, training in Viewpoints and physical actor training with Zen Zen Zo Physical Theatre (Australia) and members of the SITI Company. In 2007 I travelled to New York to continue training with Anne Bogart and the Saratoga International Theatre Institute. I continue to train in Viewpoints in Australia and teach the work extensively

Important information


Event Coordinator
Sophie Galton

Workshop timings
Region 1 – Asia & Europe
8:00 am – 9:30 am GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
9:00 am – 10:30 am CET (Central European Time)
4:00 pm – 5:30 pm SGT (Singapore General Time)

Region 2 – Americas & Europe
11:00 am – 12:30 pm PST (Pacific Standard Time)
2:00 pm – 3:30 pm EST (Eastern Standard Time)
7:00 pm – 8:30 pm GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)
8:00 pm – 9:30 pm CET (Central European time)

Please note
You will be emailed joining instructions 24 hours ahead of the session.

Finances


The cost of this session is GBP £35 per person for ISTA members and GBP £40 per person for non members.

What to bring


Any materials shared with you prior to the workshop, such as the workbook. A notebook and pencil are always useful.

Space requirements
If possible, please try to have a small amount of space near to you for any practical work.

Download & Forms

Please find below the relevant documentation for you to download:

Dates

Asia & Europe

Starts on Thursday 25 November at 16:00
Finishes on Thursday 25 November at 17:30
(SST - Singapore Standard Time)

Americas & Europe

Starts on Thursday 25 November at 20:00
Finishes on Thursday 25 November at 21:30
(CET - Central European Time)

Participants

• Csilla Szabo
• Juliette O’Brien