ISTA present...

Weird and wonderful world of Commedia with Malina Patel

April 7, 2022

Multi Region Event: Europe & Asia / Americas & Europe

Booking Closed

Please note that this event is available to book in two regions. For more detailed time zone information, please see the ‘Important information’ section below and select your chosen region when you ‘Book now’.

About the workshop

Title
The Weird and Wonderful World of Commedia

Workshop description
An introductory crash course for teachers looking for approaches to practically exploring this tradition. We will create character shapes, learn a little ‘bit’ about lazzis, and share some easily accessible resources that will support you in the classroom.

Learning outcomes

Participants will:

  • gain an overview and understanding of the context and conventions of Commedia dell’arte
  • practice approaches to creating stock characters through movement and voice
  • explore working with multilingual performers
  • share ideas for implementing in teaching practice

Target audience
All teachers of theatre and drama
Level: Introductory

https://youtu.be/Y4gXQvrWFn0

About your workshop leader

Malina Patel

I was born and raised in Toronto, Canada but have been lucky to have lived in Thailand, Uzbekistan,Tanzania, Ukraine and India – working as a drama teacher while exploring new places and fascinating cultures. I completed a BFA in Acting and a B.Ed in Drama and English, and then worked as a professional stage manager for various Canadian theatre companies before my international adventures began.

I have been an IB DP Theatre teacher and examiner for many years; but as an artist, I see myself as a writer, director, performer, teacher, learner, and social justice advocate. Theatre allows me to explore and experiment in all of these roles. I am also currently a proud member of the ISTA Board of Trustees.

Commedia is a wonderful way into so many aspects of teaching theatre, from building character to improvisation, from freeing the body to freeing the voice. It’s because of this accessibility that I have been teaching units on Commedia dell’arte for many years, primarily to students from grades 9-12.

Important information

Event coordinator
Sophie Galton: sophie@ista.co.uk


Workshop timings

Region 1: Europe & Asia
Thursday 7th April 2022
10:00 am – 11:30 am British Summer Time (BST)
11:00 am – 12:30 pm Central European Summer Time (CEST)
4:00pm – 5:30pm Indo China Time (ICT)
5:00pm – 6:30pm Singapore Standard Time (SST)

Region 2 : Americas & Europe
Thursday 7th April 2022
7:00am – 8:30am Pacific Daylight Time (PDT)
10:00am – 11:30 am Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)
3:00pm – 4:30pm British Summer Time (BST)
4:00pm – 5:30pm Central European Summer Time (CEST)
9:00pm – 10:30 pm Indo China Time (ICT)


The workshop will take place on Zoom.
Joining instructions will be emailed to participants 24 hours before the event.
Some familiarity with Google Drive, Google Docs etc. would be helpful, but is not a requirement.

Places are limited to 25 participants

Finances

The cost of this/these sessions is GBP £35 per person for ISTA members and GBP £40 per person for non members.

Please note that once booked and invoiced the registration fees are non-refundable and non-transferable as per our event terms and conditions.

What to bring

Any materials shared with you prior to the workshop, such as the workbook. A notebook and pencil are always useful.

Space requirements
If possible, please try to have a small amount of space near to you for any practical work.

Download & Forms

Please find below the relevant documentation for you to download:

Dates

Europe & Asia

Starts on Thursday 07 April at 17:00
Finishes on Thursday 07 April at 18:30
(SST - Singapore Standard Time)

Americas & Europe

Starts on Thursday 07 April at 16:00
Finishes on Thursday 07 April at 17:30
(CEST - Central European Summer Time)

Participants

• Claudia Kennedy
• Colette Puchalski
• Daniel Dugard
• Daniel Last
• Emily Norman
• JASON HUDSON
• Jun Lawrence Espinosa
• Justin Leigh Barrett
• Philippa Statham
• Terence Connolly
• Tiziano Kirchner
• Tria Sismalinda
• Zoe Bell

Artists

• Malina Patel